Meteor

Meteor is a world-class, multinational manufacturer of special, high-performance sealing systems for a broad product portfolio of automotive and industrial applications. Founded in 1951 in Bockenem, Germany, the company started out as a foam rubber factory.
The company has grown immensely and established locations all over the world to accommodate its diverse customer base. Through constant evolution and growth, Meteor has become a one-stop shop offering a complete value chain for the development and manufacturing of premium sealing systems. Known for its high-quality automotive door seals, Meteor is proud to boast some of the most recognizable auto manufacturers in the world as its customers, such as Audi, Bentley, BMW, Ferrari, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, Porsche and Volkswagen.

The challenge

We found a company that was highly underinvested. The production technology was inefficient and uncompetitive.

Our approach

By implementing new management across all functions, we streamlined the German organization and relocated more than 500 full-time employees from Germany to Romania. Major investments in the production facilities yielded quality and efficiency improvements.

Our Impact

Strengthening the business in the industrial sector, optimizing the manufacturing footprint of the existing operations and implementing a strong focus on realizing profitable business in a forward-looking organization.

Highlights

Diversifying the product portfolio in applications for the industrial sector and increasing the existing customer base, plus the acquisition of two companies in Germany and in the USA. Establishment of the compounding business unit with its own go-to-market strategy. Development of new patents and various new product developments.

KEY FACTS

  • ~EUR 200 m in revenue
  • ~2,000 employees
  • 6 Sites
  • Seller: Toyoda Gosei

Our Influence

40%
EBITDA improvement
800
FTE ramp-up at the new site in just two years
2020
Founding of a new BCC site

Meteor

Meteor ist ein weltweit führender, multinationaler Spezialhersteller von Hochleistungs-Dichtungssystemen für ein breites Produktportfolio für Automobil- und Industrieanwendungen. Das Unternehmen wurde 1951 in Bockenem, Deutschland, als Schaumgummifabrik gegründet.
Durch ein starkes, globales Wachstum gelang es, die vielfältigen Kundenbedürfnisse zu bedienen. Kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und Wachstum machten Meteor zu einem One-Stop-Shop mit einer kompletten Wertschöpfungskette in der Entwicklung und Herstellung von hochwertigen Dichtungssystemen. Bekannt für seine hochwertigen Türdichtungen für die Automobilindustrie ist Meteor stolzer Lieferant von namhaften Automobilherstellern wie Audi, Bentley, BMW, Ferrari, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, Porsche und Volkswagen.

Die Herausforderung

Durch fehlende Investitionen in die Produktion zeichneten sich Ineffizienzen und mangelnde Wettbewerbsfähigkeit ab.

Unser Ansatz

Durch die Einführung eines neuen Managements in allen Funktionen verschlankten wir die deutsche Organisation und verlagerten mehr als 500 Vollzeitstellen von Deutschland nach Rumänien. Weiterführend sorgten umfangreiche Investitionen in die Produktion zu Qualitätszugewinnen und Effizienzsteigerungen.

Unser Impact

Stärkung des Geschäfts im Industriesektor, Optimierung der Produktionsfläche der bestehenden Betriebe und Umsetzung eines starken Fokus auf die Realisierung von profitablem Geschäft in einer zukunftsorientierten Organisation.

Highlights

Diversifizierung des Produktportfolios in Anwendungen für den industriellen Sektor und Erweiterung der bestehenden Kundenbasis sowie die Akquisition von 2 Unternehmen in Deutschland und in den USA. Etablierung des Geschäfts-
bereichs Compounding mit einer eigenen Go-to-Market-Strategie. Entwicklung neuer Patente und Produkte.

KEYFACTS

  • ~200 Mio. EUR Umsatz
  • ~2000 Mitarbeitende
  • 6 Standorte
  • Verkäufer: Toyoda Gosei

Unser Einfluss

40%
EBITDA-Verbesserung
800
FTE Ramp-up am neuen Standort in nur zwei Jahren
2020
Gründung eines neuen BCC-Standorts